Elected Members

Regional Councillors

The Resource Recovery Group's current elected members are:

Doug Thompson - Chairman, Regional Councillor

City of Fremantle

Cr Thompson is Chairman of the Regional Council and has served on the SMRC/Resource Recovery Group as the Fremantle City Council representative since its inception. He is the longest continuously serving Councillor in Fremantle’s history with 29 years’ service to the City. He serves on the WALGA State Council and is SMRC’s representative on WALGA’s Municipal Waste Advisory Council. He also chairs WALGA’s Container Deposit Legislation Policy Forum, which worked closely with State Government to bring in the Container Deposit scheme in 2020.

Cr Thompson has been instrumental in adopting best practice waste minimisation at the City of Fremantle. He believes that working collectively towards environmentally responsible waste solutions is one of the most important challenges facing local government today. Throughout his time on the SMRC/Resource Recovery Group and on Fremantle Council he has made a significant contribution in facilitating cooperation between councils to achieve this end.


Karen Wheatland - Deputy Chair, Regional Councillor

City of Melville

Cr Karen Wheatland


Andrew White - Regional Councillor

Town of East Fremantle

Cr Andrew White